1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Architecture MasterPrize 2023 Winners Announced

Architecture MasterPrize 2023 Winners Announced

Written by:
Architecture MasterPrize
Architecture MasterPrize

2023 Architecture MasterPrize Awards: Showcasing Visionaries Shaping a Future Rooted in Sustainability.

The Architecture MasterPrize (AMP) proudly announces the winners of its 2023 Awards, recognizing visionaries who are reshaping our world through creativity, sustainability, and innovative architectural and design practices.

Celebrating its 8th anniversary, the AMP Awards continue the tradition of honoring and acknowledging exceptional projects that not only demonstrate architectural and design excellence but also contribute significantly to environmental sustainability and human well-being.

This year’s AMP Awards brought together entries from multiple leading architecture firms and emerging talents globally, ranging from renowned groups like BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group and Sir David Chipperfield to rising architects such as Omar Gandhi. The winners, a diverse group of architects, designers, and visionaries, have contributed significantly to their fields, ranging from sustainable urban planning to stunningly crafted interior design.

The jury panel, led by Valerie Schweitzer, features a distinguished assembly of top designers, architects, curators, and academics. Among them is Dr. Dawn Jourdan, Dean of the School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation at the University of Maryland, and Dr. Sedef Doganer, the respected Dean of the School of Architecture and Design at Wentworth Institute of Technology, who brings a wealth of knowledge and diverse perspectives to the judging process. In thoughtfully selecting the winners, the AMP jury panel faced the challenging task of evaluating exceptional submissions.

A Historic Tie in Architectural Design of the Year

For the first time in Architecture MasterPrize history, the Architectural Design of the Year title resulted in a tie, recognizing the outstanding ‘Sluishuis’ by Barcode Architects and BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group alongside the compelling ‘New Temple Complex’ by James Gorst Architects. This rare event reflects the remarkable quality of architectural brilliance and the dynamic nature of architectural discourse within the society, highlighting the robust contest and diverse range of talents in this year’s entries.

Valerie Schweitzer, Head of the AMP Jury, shared her thoughts on the selection process: "Humane architecture that fosters connectivity among all peoples and between man and nature is the signature of the 2023 AMP winners. In the architecture category, both winners establish a rational framework that integrates with the site's unique environs, but also engenders an inner-architecture of soulfulness."

The 2023 Architecture MasterPrize Architecture Awards Winners Include:

- Architectural Design of the Year: Sluishuis by Barcode Architects and BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group and New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects

- Interior Design of the Year: Prime Seafood Palace by Omar Gandhi Architects

- Urban Design of the Year: DJI Sky City by W&B Design International Pty. Ltd.

- Architectural Firm of the Year: IBUKU

- Interior Design Firm of the Year: Raul Sanchez Architects

- Landscape Architecture Firm of the Year: JL Design

- Product Design of the Year: Unburnt Circular Tile by loqa

- Exterior Photographer of the Year: Deed Studio.uae

- Interior Photographer of the Year: Victor Romero

In a remarkable demonstration of excellence, certain entries have attained the ‘Best of Best’ title by advancing to the final round of voting across all categories. A partial list of these entries includes:

- 55 Hudson Yards by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates in Commercial Architecture

- National Pavilion by Fernanda Ahumada + FR-EE in Cultural Architecture

- LEGO® Campus by C.F. Møller Architects in Commercial Architecture

- SOM Store X D415 by D415 in Retail Interior

- HEM Restaurant by Tadao Ando in Commercial Architecture

- SuperHub Meerstad by De Zwarte Hond in Green Architecture

- Ferrocarril de Cuernavaca 780 by HEMAA

Schweitzer added: "As we live through a dark period of collective alienation, misunderstanding, and prejudice, we look to architecture not only to protect our increasingly fragile earth but to push its humanity toward greater dialogue and mutual respect of differences. Congratulations to all the winners of this year's remarkable AMP, and also to the growing worldwide community of applicants who tirelessly push the boundaries of what our cities and structures can be."

AMP Awards Ceremony Returns to the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao

The celebration for the 2023 AMP winners will return to the home of the Architecture MasterPrize, the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, in November 2024. This special night will honor the exceptional achievements of both this year’s and the 2024 winners altogether. Plans for the 2024 AMP Awards ceremony are already underway, promising to continue the tradition of celebrating talented architects and designers.

The full list of winners and their projects can be viewed on the AMP website. The AMP team extends sincere congratulations to all the winners and expresses gratitude to all participants for their outstanding contributions to the field of architecture and design.

About the Architecture MasterPrize (AMP)
The mission of the AMP is to advance the appreciation and exposure of quality architectural design globally. The AMP celebrates creativity and innovation in the fields of architecture, landscape, interior, architectural products and photography. Submissions are open to architects, designers, and photographers worldwide.

By Naser Nader Ibrahim

Share on: